Back home - Reisverslag uit Asten, Nederland van Lucas Duppen - WaarBenJij.nu Back home - Reisverslag uit Asten, Nederland van Lucas Duppen - WaarBenJij.nu

Back home

Door: Lucas

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lucas

11 Maart 2017 | Nederland, Asten

I have returned. Today I had to get up a bit earlier than usual, but that is well worth it if you consider that I now have a free afternoon/evening.

Derry airport may be small, but it has enough to be able to spend my time whilst I wait for my flight. Had a strong cup of coffee to help me stay awake whilst I waited. Boarded the plane and arrived 15 minutes early in stansted. I was planning to write my blog on stansted, but there were more people that two weeks ago (or more people using the Wifi at least) so the the Wifi was a bit dodgy. Moreover, if I write my blog now it will be of the entire day instead of just until stansted.

Which brings me to the next topic: my adventures at stansted. As I mentioned before, it was more crowded that two weeks ago. This meant that checking in and going through security took longer that before. However, as this was a domestic flight there was no passport control... Dear Great Brittain, I'm not mad, I'm dissapointed. Anyway, moving on. Security did not as planned. I had paid so much attention. Last time what went wrong is that I left my pendant on and that I was wearing a hoodie. This made the alarms go of in the initial scan. Apparently these machines have a sense of fashion. Anyway, this time I remembered to just wear a T-shirt and take of the pendant but gues what, alarms still went of. I still have no idea as to why. Maybe the scanner didn't like my T-shirt either. Apart from that I got through security just fine and afterwards I still had well over an hour to spend in the duty free area. I had gone through most of the shops last time, but there was one shop that I didn't even notice last time. Namely a Hema. There are two things that I do not want to see abroad. One is other Dutch people, the other is Dutch shops. My mind (well maybe I said out loud as well but nobody noticed) just went: but why?

Let's try to be a bit more positive. I obviously did not go into the Hema, so what did I do? I got some food, ate the food, played some games, went shopping just to pass time, didn't buy anything and most importantly, I prayed that I had to board on gate 1-39 because you get to ride a monorail to get there. My prayers were not heard.

The plane left on time and arrived early. The weather is so nice compared to Ireland. It may not be great weather, but it is better than leaving Ireland in the rain and arriving home in rain. That would just be terrible.

What have I learned?
Make sure you pack your phone charger
Leave some space in your suitcase for souvenirs
Running stables is hard
Speaking English for 2 weeks is not hard
Don't go to Ireland for the weather
Do go to Ireland for the people
Because 9 out of 10 of the Irish are kind and lovely people
Make sure your boss is not that 1 out of 10

This has been my international internship. Hope to see you soon.

  • 11 Maart 2017 - 17:45

    Eva:

    :)

  • 11 Maart 2017 - 19:21

    OmA.:

    Dag Lucas, om je moederstaal wat op te krikken ga ik maar over op het Nederlands
    Ja Ierland is een mooi land met vriendelijke mensen.
    En er zijn ook weken dat zelfs in Ierland de zon schijnt.
    En nu terug naar huis.
    Misschien inmiddels al thuis.
    Even omschakelen, en dan met een grijns achterom kijken.
    Succes met het gewoon de draad weer oppakken.
    Dank voor je verhalen, leuk om te lezen.
    Tot gauw
    See you later......

  • 11 Maart 2017 - 22:06

    Jeanne-marie:

    Must have been quite an experience.
    It was a real pleasure to read your stories. Enjoy home again.

  • 12 Maart 2017 - 10:00

    Jacqueline:

    Hi Lucas, welcome back! Was great to read your stories. Hope to see you soon. xx

  • 12 Maart 2017 - 13:17

    Adriek De Man:

    Je kan altijd nog komiek worden!

  • 12 Maart 2017 - 14:28

    Roland:

    Erg leuk om je blog te lezen, kun je daar niet gewoon mee door gaan?
    Gr,
    R.

  • 13 Maart 2017 - 08:30

    Jasper Ter Horst:

    Same here on the Dutch people abroad!
    Good to see that you are safe back home :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Asten

international internship

report of my internship in Ireland.

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Maart 2017

Back home

10 Maart 2017

Final countdown

09 Maart 2017

Just keep sweeping

08 Maart 2017

Something different at last

07 Maart 2017

Two in one
Lucas

Actief sinds 21 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 1266
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8462

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Februari 2017 - 11 Maart 2017

international internship

Landen bezocht: